People Scrutiny Committee Working Group Membership June 2016

At the meeting of Powys County Council on 20th April 2016 it was agreed to reduce the number of Members on Scrutiny Committees from 21 to 14. The places for co-opted Members remain the same, namely 3 places for Parent Governors (one representing the primary sector, one representing the secondary sector and one representing pupils with additional learning needs), and two places for Church Representatives (one for Church in Wales and one for the Catholic Church).

At the Annual Meeting of Powys County Council on 11th May 2016 the following Members were appointed to the People Scrutiny Committee

County Councillor David Jones

County Councillor Myfanwy Alexander

County Councillor Aled Davies

County Councillor Rachel Davies

County Councillor Roche Davies

County Councillor James Gibson-Watt

County Councillor Ann Holloway

County Councillor Maureen Mackenzie

County Councillor Sue McNicholas

County Councillor Peter Medlicott

County Councillor Kath Roberts-Jones

County Councillor Tom Turner

County Councillor Gwilym Vaughan

x1 unallocated (due to numerical calculations of entitlements to seats for each political group). A meeting with Group Leaders is being arranged to try to bring the membership of the committee to full cap[pacity.

The following co-opted Members of People Scrutiny Committee remain as Members:

Parent Governor Representative (Primary) A Davies

Church Representative (St Asaph Diocese) M Evitts

Church Representative (Catholic Church) VACANCY

The People Scrutiny Committee currently appoints to eight groups (a copy of the Membership of these working groups as of April 2016 is attached at Appendix A).

The Committee could be minded, as membership of the full committee is only 14, to seek expressions of interest from other Council Members to sit on working groups only. This would allow extra capacity at the working group level to be available if this was felt to be appropriate.

Adult Social Care Scrutiny Group

Chair of People: Cllr David Jones

County Councillors:	Cllr Rachel Davies, Cllr James Gibson-Watt, Cllr
	Kath Roberts-Jones, Cllr Tom Turner

Children's Services Scrutiny Group

Lead Member:	Cllr Kath Roberts-Jones
Chair of People:	Cllr David Jones
County Councillors:	Cllr Roche Davies, Cllr Maureen Mackenzie, Cllr Sue McNicholas
Co-opted Members:	A Davies
	L Jenkin
	M Evitts

Cultural Services Scrutiny Group

- Lead Member: VACANCY
- Chair of People: Cllr David Jones
- County Councillors: Cllr Tom Turner

Corporate Matters Scrutiny Group

- Chair of People: Cllr David Jones
- Lead Members of other working groups:

County Councillors: Education: (currently Chair of People)

Adult Social Care -

Children's Services – Cllr Kath Roberts-Jones

Cultural Matters -

Regeneration -

Commissioning and Procurement -

Education Scrutiny Group

Lead Member:	Cllr David Jones
Chair of People:	as above
County Councillors:	Cllr James Gibson-Watt, Cllr Maureen Mackenzie, Cllr Rachel Davies, Cllr Ann Holloway, Cllr Kath Roberts-Jones, Cllr S McNicholas, Cllr A Davies
Co-opted Members:	A Davies
	L Jenkin
	M Evitts

Joint Health Scrutiny Group (3 Members each from Gwynedd, Ceredigion and Powys)

Chair of People:	Cllr David Jones
2 County Councillors:	Cllr Kath Roberts-Jones, VACANCY

School Policy Working Group (3 Members)

This group has been in part superseded by the work undertaken in ERW. If further meetings of the group are required it is suggested that Members are appointed from the membership of the Education Scrutiny Group on a rota basis.

Joint Working Groups

Regeneration Scrutiny Group (6 Members)

People Scrutiny

3 County Councillors: Cllr David Jones,

Place Scrutiny:

3 County Councillors:

Commissioning and Procurement Scrutiny Group (6 Members)

People Scrutiny

3 County Councillors: Cllr David Jones,

Place Scrutiny:

3 County Councillors:

APPENDIX A

People Scrutiny Committee Working Group Membership April 2016

- <u>Education Scrutiny Group (8+3)</u> County Councillors: **D. R. Jones**, J Gibson-Watt M. Mackenzie, E. R. Davies, K. Roberts-Jones, A. Holloway, S. McNicholas, A. Davies. Parent Governor Representative Mrs A. Davies, Mrs L Jenkin Church Representative M. Evitts
- <u>Adult Social Care Scrutiny Group (8)</u> County Councillors: D. R. Jones, M. Dorrance, Dr G. Bowker, R. Davies, J. Gibson-Watt, K. Roberts-Jones, T. Turner and M. Williams

<u>Cultural Services Review Group (8)</u> County Councillors: D. R. Jones, M. Dorrance J. M. Williams, J. Shearer, Dr G. Bowker, G. Jones and T. Turner. Covering: Archives Libraries (inclu eBooks) Theatres Youth Strategy

• <u>Children's Services Scrutiny Group (7+3)</u>

County Councillors: D. R. Jones, M. Dorrance Mrs M. Mackenzie, **Mrs K. Roberts- Jones**, J. Holmes, L. R. E. Davies, S. McNicholas. Parent Governor Representative: Mrs A. Davies, Mrs L. Jenkin Church Representative: M. Evitts

 <u>Corporate Matters Working Group (7) (meets on ad hoc basis)</u> County Councillors: D. R. Jones, M. Dorrance K. Roberts-Jones, J. M. Williams, A. Davies, G. Ratcliffe Covering: Welfare Reform Sickness Absence Welsh Language Scheme

<u>Schools Policy Working Group</u>

It was agreed to appoint 3 representatives to any Schools Policy Working Group from the whole Committee including the Parent Governor Representatives and Church Representatives with attendance on a rota basis.

Joint Working Groups

- Regeneration Scrutiny Working Group (6) County Councillors: G. Ratcliffe, D. R. Jones and G. Jones (PEOPLE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE) County Councillors: G. Hopkins, H. Lewis and Mrs K. Silk (PLACE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE)
- Commissioning and Procurement Scrutiny Group (6) County Councillors: D. Jones, M. Dorrance and G. Ratcliffe County Councillors: A. Davies, G. Thomas and Independent Member J. Brautigam (PLACE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE)